Be a Gunner, Be a Runner 2011

April 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

Just a quick blog posting today filling everyone in on the Be a Gunner, Be a Runner charity run which I took part in on March 19th.

My preparation for the run consisted of three jogs over a 4-week period and then getting hammered at a house party the night before. I awoke at 10:45, a mere 30 mins before I believed the race was due to begin so I leapt from my bed and sprinted up to the Emirates Stadium, very nearly vomiting en route.

Looking as fit and ready as I do above, I set off on the 10 lap, 6.4km run around Arsenal’s beautiful stadium. The run was all part of Arsenal’s Be A Gooner, Be A Giver campaign to raise £500,000 for Centrepoint – London’s largest youth homelessness charity.

I managed to complete the full 10 laps without stopping for a break and I did it in something around 35 minutes, which considering the level of hangover I possessed, should entitle me to a OBE.

Overall £40,000 was raised on the day from the donations to all the people who took part in the race, which is a great total.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be a Gunner, Be a Runner 2011 at Tom's Blog.

meta